“Safer To Stand Alone”

It’s safer to stand alone
Secured by depression
Armed by distrust in everyone
So there’s space for my evolution

Everyone is only available
To inner turmoil
No matter how far I sailed
They bit my hand
Holding a promise in soil

I’m not hiding
I’m not in fear
I’m bolting
Exorcising my tears
Mapping safer places
To go when I emerge
And know
Less dangerous faces
In which to submerge

I’d commit to
someonene in need
Reassure them
I’d catch their fall
But never be
a petal past their seed
And nobody held me back
From deaths I saw

Nobody is available
As I recover from
This turmoil
I’ve almost lost myself
When they took winds
From my sails
I promise myself new rules
In the roots of my soil

I’m not hiding
I’m not in fear
Just bolting
Exorcising my tears…

There’s lost time
To make up for
Flooded bedrooms
To realize bliss for

I’m not hopeless enough
To never break shattering cycles
I’ve learned
It’s not about lost love
It’s about how I’ll capture light
Differently
Next time
Love and I
Smile at a sundial

I’m not hiding
I’m not in fear
Bolting
Exorcising my tears
Mapping safer places
To go when I emerge
So I recognize
Less hurtful faces
Less tearful to submerge.

Leave a Reply

