“Never Be Freed”

I carved a land
To be free in
Relinquishing hands
I weighed too much in

In this metropolis
We live to ends meet
Boys blow me a kiss
Till they stumble
Over their feet

I’ll never be freed
From longing to be
With the only Father I know
I’ll never be freed
From the impact
Of Fathers who
forced me to grow

Flying colors
Are hauntings in my tears
As I drown tonight
Another Fourth of July

I pay a price
For a safe zone
It has lights
My soul knows
no safety it owns

Here I’ve grown cautious
Here I’m most vulnerable
Troubled angels
Blow me a kiss
They remain truly incredible

I’ll never be freed
From mothers love
Growing conditional
I’ll never be freed
From the dream of Mommy
Always being there to lull

Flying colors are hauntings
In my tears
Drowning tonight
Another Fourth of July

I’m overexerted
I went through such lengths
To break free
from their chains
To find God
and become sane

All I’ve gathered
How I engage
with the free world
Captivated my mind
In a heartbreaking wind whirl

Flying colors are hauntings
In my tears
Drowning tonight
Another Fourth of July.

Leave a Reply

