“To The Hunters (For Lisa)”

When I shine
Darkness corners me
Angels of mine
Lose me to flags
I can’t read before me

Once upon a time
I would have given my heart
For the wings ripped from spines
But taking from givers
Is this worlds art

To the hunters
My heart is prey
I put my heart away
And I pray
That my love
Won’t burn away

I’ve always had this draw
A passion in this world
That only survives
But disenchanting falls
Are reasons to be vigilant
Of keeping myself alive

Your laughter will effervesce
Your emotions will reach
Unfamiliar peaks
You’ll say your horizons
Are veiled less and less
But a safe home for my heart
Is what I seek

To the hunters
My heart is prey
I put my heart away
And I pray
Hoping my love
Won’t burn away

I, of all people, know
How you’re broken inside
How you desperately need
One to be your breath of life

But you don’t take
another’s love
And forget they have
a spirit
You can’t just subside….

To the hunters
I’ve been prey
I’ll put my heart away
I will pray
And shield my love
So it shines always.

Leave a Reply

