“Overcoming Rather Than Achieving Heaven”

If I kept holding you dear
I’d keep hoping
your knife would soften

I’ve only known love
That ruled me with me fear
Your cradling was more secure
Than all my wisdom

You taught me
To overcome my biggest fears
I’m still helpless
Though I know this goodbye
Is for the best

I can’t fathom being motherless
Is fated in his Kingdom
So overcoming
rather than achieving Heaven
Is my quest

You love me
When I’m who
You want me to be
I voiced my mind
I bleed from my beliefs
In your words so unkind

When you won’t
Come close to my heart
My worst fear comes true
As I purge she whom
I was most petrified to part

You modeled codependency
We walk away
but never undamaged

I’m setting myself free
But only when you forgot
How to love me with past depth

You love me
When I’m who
You want to be
I voiced my mind
And I’m bleeding from beliefs
In your words so unkind

You won’t come close
To my heart
My worst fear came true
I’m purging the one
I’ve been too petrified
To part

I know I’m not easy
To always stand beside
I make logic dizzy
But there’s pain inside

That can only be
explained by you
Though I know
you kept me alive
But I lived in your models
And in fear of your words

You gave me the strength
To overcome each Hell and rise
Even if I never reflect a rainbow
And I have to forever be
A forlorn bird

I love you
Though you’re who
Can’t love me
unconditionally
You voiced your mind
I’m bleeding from beliefs
In your words so unkind

You didn’t come close
To my heart
My worst fear came true
I’m purging you she whom
I was most petrified to part.

Leave a Reply

