“Trimming Those Roots”

I’m setting myself free
I used to feel
Freedom involved rebellion
Flaunting all I attained
That was once handed to me
Showcasing my self established
Destination

Till I broke a fever
In our wettest winter in years
Forgiveness creeped in
As I quivered
No memory was here
To haunt me
It was soulless
With thousands of fears

Being free
Is not setting fire to prisons
It’s placing myself
Before what imprisons me

We see tears stream
Our hearts confuse love
With empathy
Nightmares feel
like sweet dreams
Pain awakens you
Setting you free

I made fruitless endeavors
Vulnerably just untethered
I could forgive
When my past was vacant
Hauntings became chapters
And I could learn
What our chapter
logically meant

Being free
Is not setting fire to prisons
But placing myself
Before those who
Imprison me

I’m overwhelmed by guilt
For barriers built
For those I love
Who make me curl up

Once upon a time
Abuse felt like reason
And rhyme
But I’ve begun
Trimming those roots
Since I’ve freed myself
To better understand the truth

Being free
Is not setting fire to prisons
I’m placing myself
Before those who had
Imprisoned me.

Leave a Reply

