“Always Be Crazy (Labeled)”

I invested my years
In draining cloudy skies
Coping with spells of tears
Hoping God was justified

But I had the right
to check out
Too soon I saw
the face of mortality
What possessing
too much empathy
was truly about
I’ve planted
too many new trees

Mother says
I’m the first to be dear
I’m the first to be labeled hastily
I think there’s truth to what I fear
To most I will always be crazy

I learned to think more clearly
And love with less passion
Prince Charming stoned me weary
I’m now too skeptical of religion

But my spirit was free enough
For a church
Too many unanswered questions
Turn sensitivity away
If I can’t trust a place
to land and perch
Without a limited
and fleeting stay

Mother says
I’m the first to be dear
I’m the first to be labeled hastily
I think there’s truth to my fears
I’ll always be crazy

To be a dreamer
Is an endeavor
That leaves me bed ridden
Wondering if God is just hidden

On this side of life
On the side of their knife
Where life only sticks
When therapy made me
A robotic mechanic

The first to be dear
The first to be labeled hastily
There’s truth to my fear
I’ll always be crazy.

Leave a Reply

