“Constant Star” (Mother’s Day poem)

My heroine can remind me
I was never limbless
Ostracized superheroes
Can grow so jealous
Of her spine and open arms
In her love for me
So, they stood in her way
With promises convincingly

But no more security blankets
I’m releasing my spirit
Pinned down by too many
Immortalized in my heart
But my wings were made
By just one constant star

I found a cradle
In reapers of melancholia
But they only said my heroine
Was part of my disturbia
When I wouldn’t have
rediscovered my lost heart
Without knowing my strength
As her given art

No more security blankets
I’m pushing my spirit
Pinned down by too many
Immortalized in my heart
But my wings were crafted
By just one constant star

She finally unveiled to me
She never plucked herself from me
Because I’m too much
But because my Romeo’s
Saw to it that she were rushed

Forced into liberty
Amidst crying spells
And despondency
I’m on my own two resilient feet
I promise you
new perspective has sewn
I’ve read early red flags so clearly

I know my new heroine
Is a brand new woman
Thank you for looking within
To love this new free man

My wings were crafted
By only one constant star.

Leave a Reply

