“Your Blanket”

I’ve never felt safe
But your blanket
Kept my smiling face

Half asleep
At the edge of the bed
I’m even unsafe
From memories
You allowed in my head

You’ve let me fall
You’ve let me crawl

If your blanket has
One too many blood stained stitches,
Why do these waves get colder
With these dying fishes?

If God took you
Spirits are too easy
For you to forsake
I’ve chased bliss
Like ashes of my family
Below a lake

Grudges buried deep
Like trust in safe havens
Tears substitute pills
Depression becomes
celestial abundance

You let me fall
You let me crawl….

No one has lived
In your shoes
No one walked away
In your shoes

No one has walked you through
Danger you’ve slept through
So you can walk in
Then walk out
When I’ve fallen

You let me fall
You let me crawl

If your blanket has
One too many blood stained stitches,
Why do my waves get colder
With all these dying fishes?

Leave a Reply

