“Frightening World (For Mom)”

I am to blame
Wanting to feel you love me
You’re a power
A Heaven towering above me

You gave me
A blank diary
Not so your thin air
Could write the end of me

So here I am
Redefining who I am
In my own story
Distrustful
Of any resemblance
Of glory

So the butterfly has spread his wings
It’s still a frightening world out there

I went insane
To learn no one knows
How to love me
And I went sour
To find humor in all
They think of me

You taught me
How to love
It seemed my heart
You longed to live off of

As my utilized heart
Became a mere vacancy
There’s peace in nobody
Making a travesty

So the butterfly has spread his wings
It’s still a frightening world out there

It’s my fault
Hoping you’d be the exception
After you gave me life
And tearfully prayed
I’d carry it through

But I’ve sought
The Lord to realize
my spirits freedom

Woefully I’ll let you and I die
I can only be brave
If I heal without you

As the butterfly spreads his wings
It’s a frightening world out there.

Leave a Reply

