“Where Little Boys Run”

My fortress tuned out
Pain she taught me to feel
If stems can reap themselves
From my roots
My petals seem too unreal

She’d say she’s weathered
Amplifying my youth’s torture
I’m supposed to
leave it to God
Forgive my blood
was robbed

Behind the sun
Where little boys run
Dreams are lost and miss
A breath short of bliss

Then a hero saved
and cradled me
With his own cocoon
to break through
He only blinded me
Promising to make a tribe
A dream come true

If we stayed together
His God would have turned
A cold shoulder
I’m supposed to know
how to live
Like snowmen
with smiles
merry children give

Behind the sun
In his arms I’d run
Our dream was always
going to miss
A breath shorth of bliss

My polished floors are unsafe
For miniature feet to dance
I can’t be there
For each turn they’ll take
Such promises
don’t stand a chance

I can love you
A fortress and a hero loved me
I can not save you
Sometimes your one home
Is inside of you

Behind the sun
Where little boys run
Dreams are lost and miss
A breath short of bliss.

Leave a Reply

