“I Was Unsafe”

Sailing alone
Tides regress you
Splitting images
of Heaven cast stones
Your ship is too often abused

My tears almost sank me
When nothing was the same
I could breathe
when I stripped
All the shame

I was unsafe
I was engaged
Protected, secured
Life was immersed
in your allure

But I am awake
I rise from the corner
you forsake
You moved in on
all you could play on
Still by Gods selfless love
I feel showered upon

You’re not my blanket
Not my affection friend
Never committed in spirit
Never solemn till the end

Whoever you are
Is who I need you to be
You were right but absent
When I was finally free

I was unsafe
I was engaged
Protected, secured
Life was immersed
in your allure

But I am awake
I rise from the corner
you forsake
You moved in on
all you could play on
Still by Gods selfless love
I feel showered upon

Fairytales feel so lively
Maybe we forget
we wrote the lines
Heroes feel so high and mighty
They easily forget
I said I can lose my mind

I’ve learned about heroes
I’ve learned of too much trust
I read better red flags
Like those that read
Love just became unjust

I was unsafe
I was engaged
Protected, secured
Life was immersed
in your allure

But I am awake
I rise from the corner
you forsake
You moved in on
all you could play on
Still by Gods selfless love
I feel showered upon

Leave a Reply

