“Violet Rays In Broken Promises”

You come to realize
They still would have walked away
Nobody taught them
How to guide their hearts
A healthier way

Peace sets in past your eyes
Freed of shame that weighed you
Day after day
You’re trimming their prickly stems
Anthems drown out all they say

Free as violet rays
At the end of a tunnel
Of broken promises

Light boxes heal more than a deadly haze
They fault you as they run
Stones are blessings in disguise
Like God’s kisses

If you rationalize
You’ll see nothing you say
Will make them look within
To dissolve what won’t let them stay

Now you can visualize
The impact of their memories
Fading away
You know yourself within
They’re not special enough
to know you today

Free as violet rays
At the end of a tunnel
Of broken promises

I slaved to heal myself
So I’d be better for you
I taught you the lessons
on all my shelves
Hoping I’d be an epicenter too

I evolved
My sights broadened
I learned another changed
And she is now a blur

You regressed
and hardened
Either way
I’ve learned
You could never replace her

Free as violet rays
At the end of a tunnel
Of broken promises

Light boxes heal more than
Any deadly haze
All of you faulted me and ran
Stones are blessings in disguise
Like God’s kisses.

Leave a Reply

