“Your Love Is My Unfulfilled Need (Sacrificed the Lotus I Grew On)”

When you’re waiting
For one to love you
You know their identity
Was in carrying you through

You can lose yourself
In their camouflaged shadow
They were your security
Till their true colors
harshly came aglow

I wouldn’t be here
without you
But I had to make
freedom true
Who we love most
can kill us
Saving space in my heart
for you
Makes it easier
for you to cut

So I sacrifice the lotus
I grew on
I flew where you won’t trust
The ground I walk on
Taking control of
what I hear and see
Ending cycles spinning

When you’re ailing
And love lacks
mission statements
You’re now dependent
On love to shine through
like sermons

You never learn to shine
for yourself
You’re oblivious to how
you’re loveable
There’s no joy
you’ve independently felt
Till mission statements become
void and null

I wouldn’t be here
without you
But I had to make
freedom true
Who we love
most can kill us
Keeping space in my heart
for you
Makes it easier
for you to cut

I sacrifice the lotus
I was raised on
I flew where you don’t trust
The ground I walk on
Taking control
of all I hear and see
I don’t suppress my pain
Ending cycles spinning

I use the strength and spine
You bestowed upon me
I pray God sets free
from your mind
Wrathful pride
weighing you
Heavily

You will never love me
Like you loved me
yesterday
But always your love
Is my unfulfilled need
If you wish to heal
someday

I’m here
because of you
But I had to make
freedom true
Who I love most
can kill me
Saving my heart
for you
Makes cutting me
so easy

I sacrifice the lotus
I grew on
I fly where you don’t trust
The ground I walk on
Taking control
of all I hear and see
You suppress your pain
I end cycles spinning.

Leave a Reply

