“Embraceable Me”

I didn’t have power over me
Everyone believed
They forsook me

Losing my spirit
was my limit
I can see I showered credit
For those who are not God
For those who
never made me

Wherever I go
I am worthy
Of an embrace
Unconditionally

There was always hope
In this colorful humanity
One will take note
Of embraceable me

If they can’t contend
with me
It’s not my burden
to cripple me
It’s their awakening
To grow into

But I can’t make them
Grow with me
And I can’t allow
My evolution
to be flooded by grief

Now I’m the one in control
When I was once powerless
When I was robbed
Of my youth

Wherever I go
I am worthy
Of being embraced
Unconditionally…

I’ll know
When he’s not selfish
I’ll know
If he knows to value my soul
Learning to my flaws he’ll relish
He won’t just live for me
To make himself whole

I won’t be targeted
For who God made me
I’ll be loved enough
That each sun will be
Allowed to rise just openly

It will be known that only I
Can save me
Contentment will lie
In being present with me

Wherever I go
I am worthy
Of an embrace
Unconditionally

No one will take my hope
In our colorful humanity
Someday he will pen notes
For embraceable me.

Leave a Reply

