“No Longer In Your Cocoon”

I was in your womb
A caterpillar
I’m no longer
in your cocoon
I’ll let you be
a shooting star
Of a mother

I leave it all behind
To breakthrough
And sprout wings
Abandoned and blind
But I can see
When winged masters scream
Cocoons are emptied
And finally ready
For a new beginning

I’d never dream
To make you grovel
To make you regard
Your first gleam
I can assist you gladly
With the shovel

I leave it all behind
To breakthrough
To sprout wings
Abandoned and blind
But I can see now
Winged masters scream
Cocoons are emptied
They’re finally ready
For a new beginning

I am my own
Purpose for breathing
You don’t need any pride for me
Your pride is not defining
I can accept your love diminished for me
But I can say I’ve loved
Unconditionally
As I’m fluttering past you
When you’ve given up
on me

I’m leaving it all behind
To sprout wings
Once abandoned
Once so blind
Now I see
As winged masters
Are screaming
And cocoons emptied
And are ready
For this new beginning.


Leave a Reply

