“True City Angel”

Woken, reminded
Of weightlessness
I can achieve
If sunsets mirrored
back at me
Gave me a feeling
I can believe

From a night
God designed
To know
true butterflies let go
To feel the past uplifted
Beneath their wings
To never again
crash and burn slow

If I chase the dawn
Only carry a song
I’ll be set free
From each angle
To be a true city angel

I just endured
the stormiest dusk
I wish I could say
It was a bad dream
I was crippled with fear
Life showed me
the worst I’ve ever seen

I was livid
at my confusion
But a true butterfly lets go
Of the past
Pinning down his wings
To never again
crash and burn slow

I chase the dawn
Carrying a song
Set free from each angle
To feel like a true city angel.

Leave a Reply

