“Your Cord Strangling Me”

I turned to you as before
I told you how I wish
He’d face me

You were there but off shore
For nobody since he
Could trace me

You shower me
I search for you
I can’t see past your cord
Strangling me
Always hooked to you

You can live with me
Dangling from you
You were told you’re healed
And I’m only a lost cause
Obligated as DNA
In you

Maybe no one offered you
Tickets to closure to unfold
When you fled

You throw pence at me
Not because I floor you
My feeling never has you sold
But I’m fed

You shower me
I search for you
Your heart past your cord
Strangling me
Never letting go of you

You stand there
Witness me disintegrate
Say any word would be
Only for arguments sake

But I prayed
Night after night
For you to stand there
To return my boyhood embrace
Release your laughter
To my empty space
For my Heaven on Earth’s sake

Don’t shower me
Just to make me search
For you
As you hide
Behind your cord
It’s strangling me
And never yielding you

Am I too desperate
To heal?
Should I shut the fuck up
As I dangle from you?

You seem so healed
I feel like your lost cause
Obligated as DNA
In you.

Leave a Reply

