Pretty

One more man 

thinks me pretty

This time I never 

offered my soul
Maybe I feared 

he’d learn I’m ugly

Maybe I’ve learned 

what’s truly beautiful
What’s truly beautiful 

Are these sails 

Seeing me through
My death bed is half full

But I’m beautiful again

Before I died for you
A wise woman pointed me 

to my youth

Said I’m too young 

to be teacher of the heart
Students never stay 

to kiss where I bruise

I’m as beautiful as 

my own master of my arts
I’m just as beautiful

As these waves

Floating me through
My death bed can be half full

But I’m beautiful again

Before I died for you
My words once 

so eloquent 

You make them 

so irrelevant 
Till a man questions

My sadness

Because only I 

Can free his horses
But I remained wild

I preserved my child

You broke once
What’s truly beautiful

Is how I’ve always

Sailed through
And though my death bed

May always stay half full

I am beautiful again

Before I died for you.

Leave a Reply

