Rainbow Named L.A.

A boy wrapped himself

In a cotton rainbow

Warmed by love

He’s always felt

Despite unavailable joy
On a street of Spring

My bay window reminds me

Of my fall

Protest signs fight for everything

Poetic justice flows within

My historical walls
I told her you were here

Only when she went away

She begged me

To live for her

When she was nowhere near

You were a pretty reason

For a new day

Now she sleeps without fear

As I live for a rainbow

Named L.A.
No one has to be available

Or write me a sign

Pretty men can be incredible

Eyes to meet may be

Nowhere to find
I came full circle,

back to the suburb 

So a Chaplain could ask me

How I’m related to God?
And I think He kills me

So I can finally detour

He only mutes my mind

When He confiscates everything I’ve sought
Mama knows you were here

Only when she flew away

After she begged me

To live for her

Without her anywhere near
You were just a pretty reason

For the next day

Tonight she sleeps without fear

And I’m living for 

A rainbow named L.A.

Leave a Reply

