“I Wish I Had Your Courage”

I look at your face
I see a man who traced
Who he saw within me
And all I could be

I lacked reasoning
I was unbecoming
I didn’t understand
Why you’d cast aside
My hand

I wish I had your courage
To simply let go
You saw me
As your strong one
I’m strong in my hold

My friend says
You’re beautiful
Your beauty
Is spiritual
My belief system
Is now less
Somehow you think
It’s for the best

There’s no God within
Holding on in vain
Is my biggest sin
Through melodies I pray
You hear each night
My heart has chased

I wish I had your courage
To simply let go
I seemed to be
Your strong one
I’m strong in my hold

They can’t understand
Why I rhapsodize your hand
They say
My health is compromised
But I’m uplifted
By all that I’ve memorized

You embody my roots
I’m alive in you
When life kills my truths

I’d stand back
Let you breathe
Please come back
And be one with me

But I wish I had your courage
To just let go
Of whom was
Once your strong one
As my strength let go
With your hold.

Leave a Reply

