Merman Is Your Bait

“Merman Is Your Bait”

Fearless of floodgates
Hope they pour blood
I’m armored from all I face

I see life without family
I dodge stones insecurely
I may not plant roots permanently

I wasn’t given
So much to feel
For you to conclude
My heart is unreal
You suppress emotion
I feel oceans
And nothing you say
Can make a merman bait

Everyday is a Mother’s hurricane
Every other season is a storm
Everyone I meet
Is somewhat insane

You live life green and structured
You believe you do no wrong
You fueled the fire
I throw in my rapture

I don’t overtly feel
For you to conclude
My heart is unreal
You bottle emotion
As I outpour oceans
Nothing you say
Can make this merman bait

I’m always running
To catch up with myself
I’m always turning
To see who knew what I felt

You showed me
No one cares to listen
Though they’re lonely
They think they glisten

Why must I have
Too much to feel?
Maybe I am unreal
Teach me to lock emotion
Sometimes I slip
In my oceans
The drowning you cause
You’ll never dare say
Sometimes this merman
Is your bait.

Leave a Reply

