Cold Breeze

“Cold Breeze”

I had direction
Guided by passion
If they professed love to me
I followed them blindly

I swung by the stars
Fueled by every spark
Till life lost its luster
We’re too dead to get flustered

So I bury my compass
Deeper than the seven seas
Mother and father
Left me to the cold breeze

Nowhere to go for us
Nowhere like where we’d be
I know now anyone who cares
Has concern like the cold breeze

They were navigators
Guiding me through my weather
If promises were made to me
Promises eased all my grief

I was in strong arms
Still in danger of harm
Maybe my father breaking me
And losing my angry mother
Is a relief

Because I buried my compass
Beyond the old me
An angry mother
An unfaithful father
Left me to the cold breeze

Nowhere to go for us
Nowhere like where we’d be
Anyone who might care
Cares only like the cold breeze

Followed delusional hearts
Listened to traumatized minds
From which I depart
In which they turn unkind

Its their heart and mind
Leading them to abandon
A boy once their sign
And they lose care
For their reason

So I have no compass
Days are like the seven seas
No mother
No father
Wrapped only
By the cold breeze

I took part
In leading us
I could have changed
Where we’d be

And only if I
Allow another to care
Will I never escape
This cold breeze.

Leave a Reply

