“Bittersweet Blessing”

Like a high riser
Once so lavish
Like harmless flowers
Each god relished

My one Father
Looks over me
So God has yet
To take me

This could be
A bittersweet blessing
When I was last blessed
I was cursed
With such heartbreaking

I wonder if I should be
So embracing
Of anything
Resembling a promise
My past makes it
A bittersweet blessing

I long to rise high
And love each dawning
And open my arms wide
But it was quite
The crashing

My spirit guides me
To safety
So God has yet
To take me

This could be
A bittersweet blessing
But being blessed
Broke me
With a heart’s cursing

Should I be
This quickly embracing
Of any word of promise?
My past makes this
A bittersweet blessing

These red flags
These warning signs
As my feet heavily drag
On broken china
Once so fine

It’s bound to hurt
Somehow
All things have a cost
It’s natural
To have doubts
I will surely
Have some loss

This will be
A bittersweet blessing
Like last time
I was blessed
I learned life
Is about losing

But how I yearn
To keep an opening
In my heart
To any promise
How sad this has to be
A bittersweet blessing.

Leave a Reply

