Committed 

“Committed”
Walked through

A new doorway

Arched and haunted

I left behind a cocoon

Of our glory days

I’m understood by the sick

Understanding is all

I wanted
Trees aligned

Outside my new window

Before estates below

Not as big as yours

At midnight,

Streetlights and moonlight

Interglow
I’d like to believe 

I finally left you behind

But you’re part of the tale

Always haunting my mind

I couldn’t sleep

my first night

So I wished

On a star so bright

That I’ll grow to erase

What can’t be left behind
I’m the third

In the grandest quarter

As always I’m unsettled here

Old familiar faces smiled

A little warmer

But I stand alone

Still the only queer
You tried to change

The world outside

My old window

And bestow upon me

An estate of my own

But heartbreak

brought death

To reality

And nothing could be so
I’d like to believe

I finally left you behind

But you’ll always be

Part of the tale 

Always haunting my mind

I didn’t sleep my first night

So I wished upon a star

So bright

That I’ll grow to forget 

All that can’t be left behind
You wouldn’t embrace me

So I fled your society 

You prayed he felt you’re

Committed

So I committed myself
You think I’m crazy

I tried so hard to play sanity 

Despite the sins you admitted

I would have willed myself
To wait in that old doorway

Where I leave “us” to stay

The cocoon only held you

And I understand

I was diagnosed eternally

As a sick and stunted youth
I might one day believe

I just left you behind

For now you’re in the tale

Always haunting my mind

Under slept on my first night

I prayed to a star so bright

That I forget you

And you’re left behind.

Leave a Reply

