Sacrifice

“Sacrifice”
You loved me

You ruined me

You held me

Poured life from

Within me
I will always love

The spirit I’m made of

I love my vision

Only so long

Could you wear me thin
I won’t sacrifice 

My soaring flight

For a lost soul

Who’d rather lay low
It’s time to give up

This dead end fight

I’m flying to the light

I was born to know
You say you’re wise

Living in golden snow

I sense my opening eyes

Know the Summer

Free spirits bestow
I will forever love

Spring I take year ’round

I still believe in love

That nurture’s

With constant sound
I won’t sacrifice 

My soul’s seasons 

As some seasons

Are ready to pass
It’s time to face

The many reasons

As I flourish in the light

I was born to know
It’s your hard road

That plants your own voice 

And your wisdom 

You can only follow

Your own love like a prism
I’ve come too far

I’m too wise and know

If love touched your heart

You crumble a road

Laying low
I refuse to sacrifice

My soaring flight

When lazy hearts

Would rather lay low
It’s time to surrender 

This dead end fight

You’re unlike that light

I once grew to know.

Leave a Reply

