For Luke

FOR LUKE

You walked into my mad house
Like a rosary
Thrown into a sick animal’s cage
And though the freedom
of my thoughts were truly sinister,
Your saintly core blessed me
And for a second
Your sainthood could hover over me
Until I walked through
those pearly gates

Then you had to walk away
To reform your own sanctuary

I imagine your Virgin Mary
Would be deserving of your faith
And I imagine your Father
Would finally be a little kinder to thee

I’m not even a sunflower
I’m merely a lamenting seed
When all I have left is the
Undying wish
that you’ll light a candle for me
Just during the season of giving
When you can only give so much.

IMG_0860.JPG

Leave a Reply

